Wyoming (WY)


Wyoming became the 44th state to join the union in 1890. Wyoming was the first US state to allow women to vote – an achievement that represented one of the first victories of the American women’s suffrage movement.

Today, Wyoming is the 10th largest state by area, but it has the smallest population of any state, at just over 550,000. The state is home to most of Yellowstone National Park, one of the most popular national parks in the country.

Millions of tourists visit Wyoming each year to see the Old Faithful geyser and the Grand Prismatic Spring, the nation’s largest hot spring, as well as a variety of wildlife including moose, moose, bighorn sheep, wolves, coyotes, eagles, black bears and grizzly bears.


Wyoming is a western state located in the United States, bordered by Montana to the north, South Dakota and Nebraska to the east, Colorado to the south, and Utah and Idaho to the west. Wyoming is known for its vast open spaces and rugged terrain. Much of Wyoming’s land consists of mountains and plateaus, with numerous mountain ranges including the Rocky Mountains, Big Horn Mountains, Absaroka Range, Wind River Range, and Gros Ventre Range. The highest point in Wyoming is Gannett Peak at 13,804 feet (4207 m).

The eastern two thirds of Wyoming are largely covered in high plains. This region is sparsely populated and has a semi-arid climate with cold winters. The plains are bordered by mountains on all sides. The western third of Wyoming is made up of mountains and valleys that contain some of the most beautiful scenery in America. This area includes Yellowstone National Park as well as Grand Teton National Park.

In addition to its mountain ranges, Wyoming also has several large rivers including the Snake River, Green River, Bighorn River, Powder River, Shoshone River and Platte River. These rivers are important sources of water for agriculture as well as recreational activities such as fishing and boating.

Wyoming’s climate varies depending on location within the state; however overall it has a semi-arid continental climate with cold winters and hot summers. Winter temperatures can dip below 0°F (-18°C) while summer temperatures can reach over 90°F (32°C). In addition to its cool winters Wyoming also receives significant snowfall throughout much of the year making it an ideal destination for skiing enthusiasts from around the world.

Wyoming’s landscape is truly unique; from its vast open plains to its rugged mountain ranges it offers something for everyone who loves nature or adventure activities such as hiking or skiing. With its diverse terrain it can be difficult for visitors to take everything in so be sure to plan your visits accordingly

Cities in Wyoming

Below are the top 15 cities by population in Wyoming. For all cities and towns in the state, please see Wyoming cities list.

Cheyenne is the capital and largest city in Wyoming, located in the southeastern corner of the state. It is home to over 65,000 people, making it one of the larger cities in Wyoming. Cheyenne is a historical city with a vibrant downtown area. Its main attractions include the Cheyenne Frontier Days Old West Museum and the Wyoming State Capitol Building. The city is also home to several colleges and universities, including University of Wyoming, Laramie County Community College, and Western Wyoming Community College.

Casper is another large city in Wyoming located near the center of the state. It has a population of approximately 60,000 people and serves as an important economic hub for much of central Wyoming. Casper offers plenty to do with its many outdoor activities such as snowmobiling, hiking, camping, and fishing available throughout the year. The city also has a unique downtown area with restaurants, shops, galleries and museums that appeal to all ages. Additionally, Casper hosts many events throughout the year such as MusicfestWYO and Thunderbird Pow Wow that draw locals and visitors alike.

Rank City Population
1 Cheyenne 64,610
2 Casper 58,547
3 Gillette 33,047
4 Laramie 31,501
5 Rock Springs 23,505
6 Sheridan 18,660
7 Green River 11,887
8 Evanston 11,802
9 Jackson 10,728
10 Riverton 10,619
11 Cody 10,055
12 Rawlins 8,382
13 Lander 7,551
14 Powell 6,385
15 Douglas 6,330

Counties in Wyoming

The State of Wyoming consists of 23 counties. They are:

  1. Albany County, Wyoming
  2. Big Horn County, Wyoming
  3. Campbell County, Wyoming
  4. Carbon County, Wyoming
  5. Converse County, Wyoming
  6. Crook County, Wyoming
  7. Fremont County, Wyoming
  8. Goshen County, Wyoming
  9. Hot Springs County, Wyoming
  10. Johnson County, Wyoming
  11. Laramie County, Wyoming
  12. Lincoln County, Wyoming
  13. Natrona County, Wyoming
  14. Niobrara County, Wyoming
  15. Park County, Wyoming
  16. Platte County, Wyoming
  17. Sheridan County, Wyoming
  18. Sublette County, Wyoming
  19. Sweetwater County, Wyoming
  20. Teton County, Wyoming
  21. Uinta County, Wyoming
  22. Washakie County, Wyoming
  23. Weston County, Wyoming