National University of Cuyo (Argentina)

National University of Cuyo

The National University of Cuyo is the largest higher education center in the province of Mendoza (Argentina). It was created in 1939 in response to the requirements of Mendoza and the provinces of San Juan and San Luis, the three provinces that make up the Cuyo region.


The university was founded in 1939, its purposes are formulated in the Statute where it is established that the development and dissemination of culture in all its forms through teaching, scientific research, technical preparation, training professional and the elevation of the ethical and aesthetic level. Its foundation was finalized on March 21, 1939 through Decree No. 20,971 of the National Executive Power; while on August 16 of the same year the courses officially began with the inaugural conference by Ricardo Rojas.

Since its creation, it has oriented its activity towards clarifying the great human problems, with special reference to national and regional life. It was created to offer educational services in the Cuyo region, which includes the provinces of Mendoza, San Juan and San Luis. At the beginning, it brought together some existing educational centers under its administration and new ones were created, which after a few years had university hierarchy and recognized academic prestige.

On November 22, 1949, President Juan Domingo Perón (1895-1974) abolished the fees of all universities in Argentina, making them free for all Argentine citizens as well as citizens of the entire Patria Grande and the rest of the American continent. (except the United States and Canada).

In 1973, when the National Universities of San Luis and San Juan were created on the basis of the faculties and schools that were based in the aforementioned provinces, the UN de Cuyo concentrated its work on the educational centers based in Mendoza, in addition of the Balseiro Institute, which operates in the southern city of Bariloche (Río Negro province).

It currently has 11 faculties, the Institute of Basic Sciences, the Balseiro Institute and the University Technological Institute (ITU). It also provides Middle Level educational services through five Polymodal and Basic General Education schools with a complete EGB, and two EGB III.

The Retirement and Pension Institute for UNCuyo Personnel is a decentralized entity of the Casa de Altos Estudios, which reports institutionally and hierarchically to the Rector’s Office. Its essential objective is to promote the social and economic well-being of the employees of the University and its Retirees and Pensioners.

It is the Technological Linkage Unit (UVT) of the UNCuyo, a non-profit legal entity, created on December 14, 1978, by the UNCuyo and more than 60 entities and companies from Mendoza from different sectors: agriculture, industry, commerce and services., among others. Specialized in the development of projects with companies and institutions, they provide technology and knowledge transfer services, and training activities.

From the FUNC they carry out a great diversity of activities, among which the following stand out: consulting and technical assistance, project management, training of Human Resources, specific studies and implementation of quality management systems and environmental management systems, in different sectors. production and services of the province and the region.

National University of Cuyo