Delaware (DE)


Delaware, the first of the original 13 states to ratify the federal constitution, occupies a small niche in the Boston-Washington, DC urban corridor along the Mid-Atlantic coast. It is the second smallest state in the country and one of the most populous.

The state is organized into three counties – from north to south, New Castle, Kent and Sussex – all established in 1682. The population, like industry, is concentrated in the north, around Wilmington, where the main highways and railways run along the passing coast from Pennsylvania and New Jersey in the north and east to Maryland in the south and west.

The rest of the state includes the northeast corner of the Delmarva Peninsula, which Delaware shares with Maryland and Virginia (hence the name). Most state government activities are based in Dover, the capital.


The state of Delaware is part of the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States and is located in the northeastern corner of the country, between Maryland and Pennsylvania. The state has an area of 2,489 square miles and is bordered by the Delaware River to the east and the Chesapeake Bay to the south.

Delaware is a small state with a total population of around 967,000 people. The capital city is Dover, located in Kent County. It is also home to two major metropolitan areas: Wilmington and Newark.

The geography of Delaware can be divided into three distinct regions: Coastal Plain, Piedmont Plateau, and Appalachian Mountains. The Coastal Plain occupies most of Delaware’s eastern border with Maryland and Pennsylvania, as well as its entire southern border along the Chesapeake Bay. This region features flat terrain with sandy beaches along its coastline that are popular for recreational activities like fishing, swimming, boating, and camping. Further inland lies a broad expanse of rolling hills known as the Piedmont Plateau. This area contains some of Delaware’s highest elevations including Ebright Azimuth (448 feet) near Wilmington and Iron Hill (440 feet) near Newark.

The Appalachian Mountains occupy much of western Delaware from north to south along its border with Pennsylvania and Maryland. This region contains some isolated mountain peaks such as Peak Mountain (1,053 feet) near Hockessin in northern Delaware as well as White Clay Creek (1,011 feet) near Newark in central Delaware.

The climate in Delaware varies depending on its geographic location but generally experiences humid subtropical conditions with warm summers and mild winters throughout most parts of the state. The average annual temperature ranges from around 50°F (10°C) in northern areas to around 60°F (15°C) closer to coastal regions while precipitation levels range from 30-40 inches annually across most parts of Delaware except for higher elevations where it can reach up to 50 inches per year or more due to orographic lifting caused by mountains nearby like those found in western parts of the state along its border with Pennsylvania and Maryland.

Overall, Delaware’s geography is characterized by an interesting mix between coastal plains on one side and mountainous regions on another side that offer both recreational opportunities for visitors as well as varied climates for residents living within its borders depending on what part they are in at any given time.

Cities in Delaware

Below are the top 15 cities by population in Delaware. For all cities and towns in the state, please see Delaware cities list.

Wilmington is Delaware’s largest city and its economic hub. Located on the Christina River, the city has a population of over 70,000 and is home to the University of Delaware. Wilmington offers a variety of attractions including historic sites, museums, parks, and cultural activities. It is known for its vibrant downtown area with restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. The Wilmington Riverfront is a popular destination with its waterfront promenade and several parks along the riverfront.

Dover is Delaware’s capital city and has a population of about 37,000 people. It offers many cultural attractions such as Dover Downs Racetrack & Casino, the Biggs Museum of American Art, Legislative Hall (the state capitol building), and Old State House. Dover also boasts several parks such as Silver Lake Park and Killens Pond State Park which offer outdoor activities such as fishing, boating, camping, swimming, hiking trails and more. Dover is also home to several festivals throughout the year including the Firefly Music Festival in June which attracts thousands of music fans from around the world each year. Newark is another important city in Delaware with a population of over 33,000 people. It offers many recreational activities such as golfing at Iron Hill Park or ice skating at Fred Rust Ice Arena. The University of Delaware campus in Newark provides a variety of cultural activities including concerts at Bob Carpenter Center or sporting events at Tubby Raymond Field. There are also several museums in Newark including The University Museums which features art exhibitions from around the world or The Delaware Historical Society Museum which showcases artifacts from early settlers to modern times.

Rank City Population
1 Wilmington 70,926
2 Dover 38,940
3 Newark 31,393
4 Middletown 23,001
5 Bear 21,625
6 Glasgow 15,342
7 Brookside 14,202
8 Hockessin 13,464
9 Smyrna 12,619
10 Pike Creek Valley 11,718
11 Milford 11,249
12 Claymont 9,508
13 Wilmington Manor 8,212
14 North Star 8,009
15 Seaford 7,852

Counties in Delaware

The State of Delaware consists of 3 counties. They are:

  1. Kent County, Delaware
  2. New Castle County, Delaware
  3. Sussex County, Delaware