Arkansas (AR)


Part of the land acquired in the Louisiana Purchase, Arkansas became a separate territory in 1819 and a state in 1836. Arkansas, a slave state, became the ninth state to secede from the union and join the Confederate States of America.

Today, Arkansas ranks 27th out of the 50 states in the area, but excluding Louisiana and Hawaii, it is the smallest state west of the Mississippi River.

Its neighbors are Missouri to the north, Tennessee and Mississippi to the east, Louisiana to the south, Texas to the southwest, and Oklahoma to the west.

The name Arkansas was used by early French explorers to refer to the Quapaw people—a prominent indigenous group in the area—and to the river along which they settled. The term was probably a corruption of akansea, the word applied to the Quapaw by another local indigenous community, the Illinois.

Little Rock, the state capital, is located in the central part of the state. In 1957, Little Rock Central High School became the center of national attention when federal troops were deployed on campus to force integration.


Arkansas is a state in the South Central United States, located between the Mississippi River and the Ozark Mountains. It is bordered by Missouri to the north, Tennessee and Mississippi to the east, Louisiana to the south, and Texas to the southwest. The state of Arkansas covers an area of 53,179 square miles and is home to approximately 3 million people.

The geography of Arkansas can be divided into five distinct regions: The Ozarks; The Ouachita Mountains; The Arkansas River Valley; The Delta Region; and The Gulf Coastal Plain.

The Ozark region of Arkansas is located in the northwest part of the state and is characterized by rolling hills, forests, rivers, lakes and caverns. This region has some of Arkansas’ highest elevations with Mount Magazine reaching 2,753 feet above sea level. This region is also known for its abundance of natural springs which are popular tourist attractions.

The Ouachita Mountains are located in central-west Arkansas and run parallel to both sides of the Ouachita River. This region contains some of Arkansas’ highest peaks including Rich Mountain at 2,681 feet above sea level. This region also contains numerous lakes including Lake Ouachita which is a popular destination for recreational activities such as fishing and boating.

The Arkansas River Valley runs from Fort Smith in western Arkansas all the way eastward into Little Rock where it meets with the Mississippi River. This region contains some of Arkansas’ most fertile land which makes it an ideal location for agriculture production such as cotton and soybeans. It also contains numerous small towns that have been preserved from their 19th century roots making them popular destinations for tourists looking to explore history or take part in outdoor activities such as hiking or camping.

The Delta Region includes easternmost part of the state along with a portion of westernmost Tennessee bordering on Mississippi River tributaries such as White River and St Francis Rivers that define this flat landscape which are ideal locations for rice farming due to its rich soil content from river flooding each year..

Lastly, The Gulf Coastal Plain stretches along much of southwestern border with Texas where it meets up with Red River on its southernmost point near Texarkana before continuing eastward towards Little Rock where it meets up with White River before emptying into Mississippi near Memphis Tennessee.. This flat landscape consists mostly wetlands ideal for hunting waterfowl such as ducks or geese as well as other wildlife species like deer or turkey.. It also has an abundance rivers running through it ideal for recreational activities like fishing or canoeing down its many streams..

In conclusion, The geography of Arkansas can be divided into five distinct regions each offering unique landscapes ranging from rolling hills in Ozarks to flat wetlands along Gulf Coastal Plains all providing unique opportunities for outdoor recreation activities whether you’re looking for a fishing trip on one its many rivers or just want take a stroll down one its historic towns there’s something here everyone can enjoy.

Cities in Arkansas

Below are the top 15 cities by population in Arkansas. For all cities and towns in the state, please see Arkansas cities list.

Rank City Population
1 Little Rock 201,893
2 Fayetteville 92,070
3 Fort Smith 89,116
4 Springdale 85,887
5 Jonesboro 77,520
6 Rogers 68,340
7 North Little Rock 64,444
8 Conway 63,746
9 Bentonville 52,565
10 Pine Bluff 41,964
11 Hot Springs 38,050
12 Benton 34,746
13 Sherwood 32,544
14 Bella Vista 29,818
15 Texarkana 29,492

Counties in Arkansas

The State of Arkansas consists of 75 counties. They are:

  1. Arkansas County, Arkansas
  2. Ashley County, Arkansas
  3. Baxter County, Arkansas
  4. Benton County, Arkansas
  5. Boone County, Arkansas
  6. Bradley County, Arkansas
  7. Calhoun County, Arkansas
  8. Carroll County, Arkansas
  9. Chicot County, Arkansas
  10. Clark County, Arkansas
  11. Clay County, Arkansas
  12. Cleburne County, Arkansas
  13. Cleveland County, Arkansas
  14. Columbia County, Arkansas
  15. Conway County, Arkansas
  16. Craighead County, Arkansas
  17. Crawford County, Arkansas
  18. Crittenden County, Arkansas
  19. Cross County, Arkansas
  20. Dallas County, Arkansas
  21. Desha County, Arkansas
  22. Drew County, Arkansas
  23. Faulkner County, Arkansas
  24. Franklin County, Arkansas
  25. Fulton County, Arkansas
  26. Garland County, Arkansas
  27. Grant County, Arkansas
  28. Greene County, Arkansas
  29. Hempstead County, Arkansas
  30. Hot Spring County, Arkansas
  31. Howard County, Arkansas
  32. Independence County, Arkansas
  33. Izard County, Arkansas
  34. Jackson County, Arkansas
  35. Jefferson County, Arkansas
  36. Johnson County, Arkansas
  37. Lafayette County, Arkansas
  38. Lawrence County, Arkansas
  39. Lee County, Arkansas
  40. Lincoln County, Arkansas
  41. Little River County, Arkansas
  42. Logan County, Arkansas
  43. Lonoke County, Arkansas
  44. Madison County, Arkansas
  45. Marion County, Arkansas
  46. Miller County, Arkansas
  47. Mississippi County, Arkansas
  48. Monroe County, Arkansas
  49. Montgomery County, Arkansas
  50. Nevada County, Arkansas
  51. Newton County, Arkansas
  52. Ouachita County, Arkansas
  53. Perry County, Arkansas
  54. Phillips County, Arkansas
  55. Pike County, Arkansas
  56. Poinsett County, Arkansas
  57. Polk County, Arkansas
  58. Pope County, Arkansas
  59. Prairie County, Arkansas
  60. Pulaski County, Arkansas
  61. Randolph County, Arkansas
  62. Saint Francis County, Arkansas
  63. Saline County, Arkansas
  64. Scott County, Arkansas
  65. Searcy County, Arkansas
  66. Sebastian County, Arkansas
  67. Sevier County, Arkansas
  68. Sharp County, Arkansas
  69. Stone County, Arkansas
  70. Union County, Arkansas
  71. Van Buren County, Arkansas
  72. Washington County, Arkansas
  73. White County, Arkansas
  74. Woodruff County, Arkansas
  75. Yell County, Arkansas